Press Releases

Webster CoSponsors Bipartisan Russian Leadership Travel Ban

Washington, DC – On Friday, Florida Congressman Daniel Webster (R-Clermont) joined Rep. Dean Phillips (D-MN) in introducing H.R. 6853, the Russian Travel Sanctions for a Democratic Ukraine Act. This legislation is a direct response to Vladimir Putin’s invasion of Ukraine and would establish a comprehensive travel ban on Russian government officials and members of the Russian oligarchy.

“President Putin is an evil dictator and his invasion into Ukraine must not succeed,” said Rep. Webster. “The travel sanctions outlined in this bill expand on sanctions announced by President Biden and ensure Russian elites feel the pain for Putin’s unconscionable attack on Ukraine and its people.”

The banned representatives of Russian leadership would include:

  • All government officials;
  • All oligarchs;
  • Any employee of a Russian state-owned company; and
  • Any employee of a company that receives Russian state funding

These visa restrictions would be implemented in coordination with NATO nations and other allies.

Cosponsors of this bill include: Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC), Rep. Brendan Boyle (D-PA), Rep. John Garamendi (D-CA), Rep. Buddy Carter (R-GA), Rep. John Curtis (R-UT), Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN), Rep. Angie Craig (D-MN), Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH), Rep. Stephanie Murphy (D-FL), Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO), Rep. Mikie Sherrill (D-NJ), Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE), Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-CA), Rep. Gerry Connolly (D-VA), Rep. Abigail Spanberger (D-VA), Rep. Al Green (D-TX), Rep. Trent Kelly (R-MS), Rep. Chris Pappas (D-NH), Rep. Jim Costa (D-CA), Rep. Brad Schneider (D-IL), Rep. Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH), Rep. Young Kim (R-CA), Rep. John B. Larson (D-CT), Rep. Rick Larson (D-WA), Rep. Seth Moulton (D-MA), Rep. John Moolenaar (R-MI), Rep. Jim Langevin (D-RI), and Rep. Claudia Tenney (R-NY).