Press Releases

Webster Supports Bill to Ban the IRS from Collecting Any Biometric Data from American Taxpayers

Washington, DC – Yesterday, Florida Congressman Daniel Webster (R-Clermont), Congressman Bill Huizenga (R-MI) and nearly 20 other members introduced the Bans IRS Biometrics Act. The Bans IRS Biometrics Act stops the IRS from collecting, using, or storing any type of biometric data. This legislation has also been introduced in the Senate by Republican Senator Rick Scott of Florida.

“Safeguarding Americans’ privacy and personal data is one of my priorities and I have adamantly opposed financial surveillance suggested by the Biden Administration,” said Rep. Webster. “While we must protect against fraud and improve use of technology, given the IRS’ reputation of targeting conservatives and leaking personal information, their proposal to collect biometric information was very troubling. I am glad the IRS has backed away from their proposal and am committed to holding them accountable and protecting Americans.

The Bans IRS Biometrics Act defines the term ‘biometric information’ to mean information regarding any measurable physical characteristic or personal behavioral trait used to recognize the identity, or verify the claimed identity or location, of an individual, including facial images, fingerprints, and iris scans.

The Bans IRS Biometrics Act also requires the Secretary of the Treasury, in consultation with the Director of the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, to develop a plan within 180 days for the safe and secure destruction and disposal of any biometric information collected or used by the IRS or any third-party vendor on behalf of the IRS before the date of this bill becoming law.

Cosponsors include: Rep. Bill Posey (R-FL), Rep. Ashley Hinson (R-IA), Rep. Ann Wagner (R-MO), Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), Rep. Robert Aderholt (R-AL), Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-TX), Rep. Julia Letlow (R-LA), Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL), Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI), Rep. Nancy Mace (R-SC), Rep. David Kustoff (R-TN), Rep. John Moolenaar (R-MI), Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX), Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL), Rep. Steven Palazzo (R-MS), Rep. Tracey Mann (R-KS), Rep. Mike Garcia (R-CA), Sen. John Kennedy (R-LA), Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX), Sen. Joni Ernst (R-IA), Sen. Mike Braun (R-IN), Sen. Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Sen. Josh Hawley (R-MO), Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL), and Sen. Mike Lee (R-UT).